Cocaine possession is treated harshly under Tennessee law. More than .5 grams is generally charged as Possession with Intent to Sell.
Under Tennessee law, any drug can be simply possessed. An experienced criminal defense attorney, can often get felony Possession with Intent charges lowered to Simple Possession depending on the facts.
Simple Possession is an A misdemeanor punishable with up to 11 months 29 days in jail or probation and fines. A third or subsequent Simple Possession will be a felony offense punishable by up to 6 years in prison or on probation.
Court approved drug counseling and treatment can often be arranged as an alternative to incarceration.